top of page
Writer's pictureLearningto beFlexible

Eating with EDS



The title Eating with EDS at the top. Beneath is the subtitle, A Low FODMAP and Gluten Free Recipe Series. At the bottom is a sticker that reads New Blog Post.

ID: The title Eating with EDS at the top. Beneath is the subtitle, A Low FODMAP and Gluten Free Recipe Series. At the bottom is a sticker that reads New Blog Post.


There has long been a connection between Ehlers Danlos Syndrome and digestion issues. But without further research there were many years where this connection was misunderstood. Because the digestion issues can stem from so many aspects of EDS, it was hard to pinpoint and understand.


Ehlers Danlos Syndrome affects a person’s collagen. Collagen is in our skin, muscles, cartilage, and bones. It can show up in any organ or system. EDS is linked to autonomic dysfunction and mast cell conditions, both of which can affect digestion. In addition, Ehlers Danlos Syndrome can lead to structural issues like uncoordinated swallowing and digestion or swallowing disruption due to subluxations of the spine, pelvis, and other nearby structures.


Personally, I’ve been diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome, acid reflux, gastroparesis and uncoordinated swallowing. I’ve been told I experience leaky gut and other absorption issues due to my EDS. I’ve been diagnosed with Dysautonomia that can affect digestion and gastroparesis which is considered a type of Dysautonomia. Biopsies during my colonoscopy and endoscopy showed high levels of mast cell, which can be related to food allergies and intolerances. I’ve also had subluxations of my spine that affected my swallowing and blocked digestion.


I’ve tested positive for SIBO, lactose intolerance, and fructose intolerance. Even after treatment and using supplements like digestive enzymes and probiotics, eating can be a challenge. For the last 9 years I have been on the FODMAP diet. The FODMAP diet is not intended for long term use. But it is the only diet that has helped make eating feel possible for me. This diet is for anyone with digestion issues. Mainly, it removes foods that are more challenging for our body to digest.


I’ve had additional trauma related to vomiting, inability to eat, and extreme, rapid weight loss. I want to acknowledge that any of these kinds of diagnoses and experiences can lead to a difficult relationship with food. At one point, I was diagnosed with disordered eating. I was recording everything I ate and counting calories to hit made-up daily targets. I had a deeply skewed perspective around eating and survival. If you are feeling like food is a challenge, I would suggest seeking out mental health support in addition to working with your naturopath, gastroenterologist, neurologist, and/or nutritionist. Food is such an important part of daily life, social life, and culture. It’s important that we acknowledge its weight and necessity and work to make eating feel manageable when it becomes difficult.


Over the last few years I have begun to create and adjust recipes to fit my FODMAP diet. I look forward to sharing some of these with you. Food is such an important part of life. I hope these recipes help connect you to old favorites and open you up to new options.

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


コメント機能がオフになっています。
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page