top of page
Writer's pictureLearningto beFlexible

Holiday Gift Guide from Learning to be Flexible


ID: The title Holiday Gift Guide from Learning to be Flexible on a backdrop of a table with some pinecones and sprigs of evergreen trees along the edges.


It’s that time of year, where holidays abound and we race to the new year. If you’re thinking of picking up gifts for the disabled and chronically ill people in your life- be sure to read this holiday gift guide first.


There are many different types of disabilities and illnesses. Different people may have different access needs and would therefore benefit from different gifts. Being sick and disabled is expensive, consider purchasing gifts that will make the lives of your loved ones easier. This guide is not meant to be the final word on the desires of an entire community. This is not a paid advertisement, just another disabled, chronically ill patient trying to pass along a little wisdom. I hope you’re able to use the guide as a catalyst for starting a conversation with your disabled and chronically ill loved ones.


Ehlers Danlos Syndrome


I love my Walk Easy crutches. I use them everyday. They help me with proprioception, or my ability to feel my body in space. I would urge you to consider checking in with the intended recipient before purchasing as they may have some specific desires, like color or type of grip.


The Muldowney Exercise Protocol was designed for Ehlers Danlos Patients, by a physical therapist with a decade of experience working with hypermobile patients. The book is thorough and clear with pictures for each exercise. For the hypermobile, it’s a necessary investment.


I use my acupressure mat every day, sometimes many times a day. It helps to gently reduce tension in my muscles while increasing blood flow. It also helps to quickly reduce pain.


Dysautonomia


Popsicle molds serve a dual purpose. They’re great for cooling your body down when it’s overheated. And they’re a great way to stay hydrated and get some calories in if you’re struggling to eat.


A bedjet is a heating and air conditioning unit for your bed. I thought it was an unnecessary luxury when a loved one heard of it and purchased it for me. I now use my Bedjet everyday. It blows hot or cold air under your sheets, and it is usually attached by the feet. For me, my feet can go ice cold. Now I can lay down and let the bedjet warm me up. It’s been a life changer.


Saltstick is a salt supplement. It comes in capsules and fast chews. Personally, I use both. I take a Saltstick capsule morning and night. If I’m experiencing dry mouth or feeling really dehydrated I take a fast chew. They’re a great way to get balanced salt with other vitamins like calcium and potassium.


Some days I need more support. Whether it’s heat or a long day of walking, using the rollator gives me the extra support I need. Sometimes my crutches are not enough. If I’m feeling weaker or concerned I may need to sit down quickly- I use my rollator.


I hope this helps you look out for the disabled and chronically ill loved ones in your life. Happy holidays!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page